Graphic novelist Stephan Pastis, author of the “Timmy Failure” series, presents a program in the Center for the Book’s Young Readers Center

March 2021

March 1–7

March 8–14

March 15–21

  • March 15, 8 PM ET (7 PM CT/6 PM MT)
    South Dakota Center for the Book
    The Leave-Takers: Virtual Book Launch & Conversation: Steven Wingate discusses his brand-new South Dakota novel, “The Leave-Takers,” with fellow author Patrick Hicks. Join via Zoom link with passcode: Wingate.
  • March 16, 2 PM ET
    Indiana Center for the Book
    Toucan Tuesdays at 2:00 Series: Sharon Biggs Waller: Join the Indiana Center for the Book to watch our chatty correspondent, Sammy the Interviewing Toucan, interview Indiana Authors Award shortlisted author Sharon Biggs Waller (“Girls On the Verge”) via the Indiana State Library's Facebook page.
  • February 16, 6:30 PM ET
    North Carolina Center for the Book
    Evening Edition: Environmental Journalism in North Carolina: Join North Carolina Humanities for an interactive panel discussion examining the theme of journalism presented in our two Statewide Read books. Registration for the event is required and is free! Register Here.
  • March 16, 7 PM ET
    Maryland Center for the Book
    Why It Matters: Reckoning with Race. Equity. Allyship.: Join authors Kimberly Jones and Gilly Segal as they discuss their best-selling book, “I’m Not Dying With You Tonight,” inspired by the death of Baltimorean Freddie Gray, and they’ll touch on some of today’s most pressing topics—the recent resurgence of our country’s reckoning with racial inequity, a video that went viral after the death of George Floyd, and reaching beyond platitudes to work together on issues of common concern.
  • March 16, 8 PM ET (7 PM CT)
    Minnesota Center for the Book
    Club Book with Imbolo Mbue: Imbolo Mbue reads from and discusses her latest book, “How Beautiful We Were.” Streamed on Facebook Live.
  • March 18, 7 PM ET
    South Carolina Center for the Book
    Authors of SC featuring Sylvie Feghali Smith: Displaced by a sectarian civil war, a young woman relies on her courage and determination to navigate the uncertain challenges of assimilation and single parenthood in a new country in this collection of micro-memoirs.
  • March 18, 7:30 PM ET (6:30 PM CT)
    Minnesota Center for the Book
    Club Book with Claire Lombardo: Claire Lombardo reads from and discusses her book, “The Most Fun We Ever Had.” Streamed on Facebook Live.
  • March 21, 5 PM ET (3 PM MT)
    Colorado Center for the Book
    Veterans Expressive Writing Workshop: Expressive writing provides support for a deeply private writing process proven to reduce stress. This effective, free trauma intervention is led by veteran author Cindy Skaggs. Join us for a deep dive into guided writing on Sunday afternoons starting at 3 p.m. MT, via the online platform Zoom.

March 22–31

Top

April 2021

April 1–11

April 12–18

April 19–30

  • April 20, 1 PM ET (12 PM CT)
    Louisiana Center for the Book
    Just Listen to Yourself: The Louisiana Poet Laureate Presents Louisiana Poets: Celebrating National Poetry Month, current LA Poet Laureate John Warner Smith hosts readings by LA poets he invited to participate virtually, including David Armand, Kelly Harris-DeBerry, William J. Jefferson, Dorie LaRue, Patrice Melnick, and Thomas Parrie.
  • April 20, 2 PM ET
    Indiana Center for the Book
    Toucan Tuesdays at 2:00 Series: Krsiti Valiant: Join the Indiana Center for the Book to watch our chatty correspondent, Sammy the Interviewing Toucan, interview Indiana illustrator Krsiti Valiant (“Penguin Cha-Cha”) via the Indiana State Library's Facebook page.
  • April 21, 9 PM ET (7 PM MT)
    Colorado Center for the Book
    General Nonfiction and History Colorado Book Award Finalist Readings: Finalists in the General Nonfiction and History categories read and answer questions at a Facebook and YouTube Live event.
  • April 22, 12 PM ET
    Virginia Center for the Book
    Virginia Festival of the Book presents SHELF LIFE: Worlds Within Words: Poetry: Poets Nin Andrews (“The Last Orgasm”), Sandra Beasley (“Made to Explode”), Vijay Seshadri (“That Was Now, This is Then”), and Katherine E. Young (“Woman Drinking Absinthe”) will read from their newest collections. FREE to attend on Zoom and Facebook Live.
  • April 22, 5 PM ET (2 PM PT)
    Nevada Center for the Book
    Nevada Reads 2021: Meet the Authors: This free Zoom event will feature a discussion and Q&A moderated by author and educator Gayle Brandeis around our 2021 Nevada Reads theme, “Cultivating Environmental Literacy.” Our authors will discuss their respective books, “Miracle Country: A Memoir” (Kendra Atleework) and “World of Wonders: In Praise of Fireflies, Whale Sharks and Other Astonishments” (Aimee Nezhukumatathil), their experiences and motivation for writing these memoirs, and their thoughts on the connection between literature and the natural world.
  • April 22, 7 PM ET (6 PM CT / 8 PM AT)
    Louisiana Center for the Book
    Ô Malheureuse: Voices of Louisiana, Disccussion and Readings: In partnership with the Frye Festival, New Brunswick, Canada, “Ô Malheureuse” editor Ahslee Michot talks about the book’s importance as the first collection of writings in French by Louisiana women, with readings from four contributors. This program is the inaugural event of the literary exchange project between the Louisiana Book Festival and the Frye Festival, Moncton, New Brunswick, Canada.
  • April 22, 8 PM ET (7 PM CT)
    Iowa Center for the Book
    Earth’s Bounty in Iowa: A professor of history and a farmer storyteller will speak on the state’s rich history of agriculture along with modern challenges and triumphs of farming in Iowa. Registration required.
  • April 22, 9 PM EDT (6 PM PDT)
    California Center for the Book
    Book to Action: A Conversation with Josh Tickell of Kiss the Ground: Please join us for a very special conversation with Josh Tickell, environmental thought leader and award winning director and author of “Kiss the Ground,” as we explore ways Californians can come together and make both individual and collective change for a more sustainable future.
  • April 25, 5 PM ET (3 PM MT)
    Colorado Center for the Book
    Veterans Expressive Writing Workshop: Expressive writing provides support for a deeply private writing process proven to reduce stress. This effective, free trauma intervention is led by veteran author Cindy Skaggs. Join us for a deep dive into guided writing on Sunday afternoons starting at 3 p.m. MT, via the online platform Zoom.
  • April 27, 1 PM ET (12 PM CT)
    Louisiana Center for the Book
    Just Listen to Yourself: A Retrospective: Celebrating National Poetry Month with a lagniappe event, a retrospective of the past ten years of this annual event, the LA Poet Laureate originator Darrell Bourque hosts this special edition featuring virtual readings by all subsequent LA poets laureate who have hosted the program during the past decade: Julie Kane, Ava Leavell Haymon, Peter Cooley, Jack Bedell, and John Warner Smith.
  • April 27, 2 PM ET
    Indiana Center for the Book
    Toucan Tuesdays at 2:00 Series: Mike Mullin: Join the Indiana Center for the Book to watch our chatty correspondent, Sammy the Interviewing Toucan, interview Indiana author Mike Mullin (“Ashfall”) via the Indiana State Library's Facebook page.
  • April 28, 9 PM ET (7 PM MT)
    Colorado Center for the Book
    Anthology and Pictorial Colorado Book Award Finalist Readings: Finalists in the Anthology and Pictorial categories read and answer questions at a Facebook and YouTube Live event.
  • April 29, 12 PM ET
    Virginia Center for the Book
    Virginia Festival of the Book presents SHELF LIFE: Black Women’s Battle for the Ballot with Evette Dionne & Martha S. Jones: Evette Dionne, editor-in-chief of Bitch Media and author of “Lifting as We Climb: Black Women’s Battle for the Ballot Box,” discusses her Coretta Scott King Author Honor book with Martha S. Jones, author of “Vanguard: How Black Women Broke Barriers, Won the Vote, and Insisted on Equality for All.” FREE to attend on Zoom and Facebook Live.
  • April 29, 6 PM ET
    North Carolina Center for the Book
    This is the Place—Place, Identity, Community in NC Poetry: Join North Carolina Humanities for a night of poetry and conversation to celebrate National Poetry Month. Register Here!

Top