Graphic novelist Stephan Pastis, author of the “Timmy Failure” series, presents a program in the Center for the Book’s Young Readers Center

The Center for the Book in the Library of Congress was established by Public Law in 1977. Since then, it has grown into a national network of 56 Affiliate Centers for the Book. There is an Affiliate in every state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Guam, American Samoa and Northern Marianas.

The Affiliated Centers for the Book bring the national Center's message of the importance of books, reading, libraries and literacy to audiences nationwide. These centers actively work to highlight their unique literary heritage. Many of the centers sponsor book festivals, author readings and other events that celebrate books and libraries.