Library of Congress Literacy Awards

Library of Congress Literacy Awards Advisory Board

Laura Bush
Honorary Chair
Founder of the Texas Book Festival, 1995
Co-Founder of the Library of Congress National Book Festival, 2001

Laura L. Bailet, Ph.D.
Chief Academic Officer at Kaplan Early Learning Company

David Baldacci
No. 1 New York Times best-selling author
Founder, Wish You Well Foundation

Anthony Bloome
Senior Education Technology Specialist, U.S. Agency for International Development
Director, All Children Reading: A Grand Challenge for Development

Lois Bridges, Ph.D.
Vice President, Scholastic Professional
Publisher, Theory and Practice, Scholastic Inc.

Lesley S.J. Farmer, Ed.D.
Professor, College of Education, California State University
Standing Committee on Literacy and Reading, International Federation of Library Associations (IFLA)

Susan H. Hildreth
Former Distinguished Practitioner in Residence, University of Washington Information School
Former Director, Institute of Museum and Library Services
Former City Librarian, Seattle and San Francisco public libraries, State Librarian of California
Governance Chair, Reach Out and Read

Karen Lotz
President and Publisher, Candlewick Press
Group Managing Director, Walker Books Limited

Elaine Ng
Chief Executive Officer, National Library Board of Singapore

James Patterson
No. 1 New York Times best-selling author
Winner, National Book Foundation’s Innovations in Reading Prize 2009
Founding partner, Children’s Reading Fund (UK)

Karen M. Ristau, Ed.D.
Former President, National Catholic Educational Association
Professor, University of St. Thomas, St. Paul, Minn., Retired

Lynda Johnson Robb
President, The National Home Library Foundation
Founding member and former chair, Reading Is Fundamental

Loriene Roy, Ph.D.
Professor, School of Information, University of Texas at Austin
Past President, American Library Association

Benita Somerfield
Founding Executive Director, Barbara Bush Foundation for Family Literacy (1988-2012)
Board of Directors, Reach Out and Read

Michael F. Suarez. S.J.
Director, Rare Book School
University Professor and Professor of English, University of Virginia
Co-editor, The Oxford Companion to the Book (2010)

Michael Trucano
Global Lead for Innovation in Education, The World Bank